top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

A Desperate Heart

Is a dangerous thing...

"A desperate heart will seduce the mind" - Mitch Albom


I know I'm going back to Mitch Albom once again, but I honestly love his work. I think he is so smart, and speaks so much truth. For me Mitch Albom is my Morrie Schwartz.


When reading 'The Time Keeper' this quote in particular hit me the hardest. I haven't always been the best version of myself, neither have people around me. But in times of need we lead ourselves to believe we deserve the love we get. When in reality that love could be fake or even doing more harm than good. I know all advice in life starts with the saying 'follow your heart' but to be honest your heart isn't always right. Especially when its fragile or even being manipulated.


In the start of a relationship sometimes you can see it as an escape from bad stuff in other areas of your life...but at some point it can change. Maybe to the extent of the relationship having the opposite effect, and can even do more emotional damage rather than be emotional support. And this can of course be due to a number of reasons. I mean no situation is exactly the same. This ties into a different quote... "We accept the love that we think we deserve." 


For some reason at some point in life, our minds may tell ourselves that we aren't good enough. Whether it's a physical thing or a mental thing. It can happen, and it may not even give you any warning (which of course sucks). You might just not have any self-confidence in yourself, leading you to choose to stay in that situation because of fear. I know you may think choice doesn't come into it when it's up against a fear. Fear you won't find better, fear you aren't good enough for anyone or anything but you are. If you spoke to friends or family they would tell you exactly that. You are good enough, you are better, and you should never, ever allow anyone to make you feel like your not.


The main point of this post is you have to realise. That's the first step. Realise you're in a bad situation and be brave enough to get yourself out of it and get back on the road to recovery. It could be a case that it isn't even that bad of a situation, and there could be a solution to make the situation better... but If you think you can relate to this post in any way, listen to me when I say this you deserve better. So don't let your desperate heart seduce your mind, it might be hard at first but you aren't alone at all. There will be a whole support system you just haven't uncovered yet.


That's just my take on the quote anyway, everyone's view will be different...maybe I thought too much into it...Ohh well.

 
9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page