top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

How To Know When To Walk Away

Updated: Jan 2, 2019

When a good relationship goes bad...

San Antonio Bay, Ibiza

Firstly I'll start with a little note, that I originally wrote this 3 maybe even 4 years ago. I had a relationship that started off absolutely amazing. To be completely honest it was my first real relationship, and the first and possibly the only time I have ever been completely and utterly smitten in love to the point where it literally engulfed me. And even now some of the memories from this relationship are some of the best memories I have. I may also add that I am still friends with this person as some bonds you create in life, will never be broken...saying that during some relationships it gets to the point where everything changes and that's really what I want to talk about. I was reminded of this note I wrote down all them years ago when I found out one of my close friends was going through the same things as I did. So basically this is about that and knowing when it really is time to walk away. (Ok what started off as a little note, became a long one as I realised I had more to say about it then I thought...now onto the actual blog post.)


In life, we have relationships. Relationships with family, friends and partners. No matter who that relationship is with, it will go in waves. There will be good times and bad times...But there's a clear difference between them. With family, you can't really walk away from them. Because no matter what they will always be there, that's what family does. For friends, sure we can walk away from them but it's hard, and most of the time the problems can be rectified and within a week you're friends again. But the one that's the hardest is the partner relationships. Especially if you're the one that cares the most. Your going to get hurt eventually, over and over again depending on how long you stay in that relationship. So eventually there will come a point where you have to be strong and walk away, because it's got to the point where they feel like poison to you.


The hardest bit about this point is the mental torment that goes around in your head during it. When times are bad it'll feel like your heart is repeatedly being ripped out of your chest, blended and then shoved back in there which is excruciating. But in between all of this there will be moments that are so sweet...probably just how they used to be, which will give you so much hope. Hope that things will one day be the same again, because deep down you love them unconditionally...and that's the breaking point. The vicious cycle. Where you really have to think are the bad times over weighing the good one's now. Of course it will be difficult at first, in fact forget that, it'll be difficult for as long as it takes. Heck it took me over a year even after we'd split up, but that was because I didn't completely remove myself from the situation and we were clearly seeing things differently. For him it was harmless doing thing we used to as a couple, but for me it was verging on manipulation of feelings. But anyway in long run you will without a doubt be so much better off, and some extent so much stronger for getting through it. What you've got to remember is that you aren't the first person to feel like this and sadly you won't be the last...probably even people close to home have been through a similar thing. Stay strong.

 
8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti

Impossibile caricare i commenti
Si è verificato un problema tecnico. Prova a riconnetterti o ad aggiornare la pagina.
bottom of page