top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

Judging Others

Ahh...

Wherever we are in the world, whether it's out and about or just sat at home watching the television we judge others. The main question I'm going to give my opinion on is...why? Why do many of us judge, when we know nothing about them and probably won't even see them again? I think the main reason is simply...because we don't understand.


Yesterday I was on the bus, and in front of me was a woman in her 50's. She was quite good looking, but overall an everyday person. Now I'm not especially a 'nosey' person, but when someone continuously repeats a routine none stop the whole journey you tend to take notice. The routine wasn't exactly a unusual thing to do for a woman. Stroking her hair to one side, flicking it back then shuddering. But like I said after repeating it over and over again for at least 30 minutes, you notice it and begin to think it's odd...which is the start of you judging them. Now I know majority of people will automatically think judging others is rude or even cruel...but doesn't that in itself suggest they are also being judgmental by assuming?


The way I see it is overall there are two different types of judgmental people. On one hand you have the 'judge a book by it's cover' people. It's simple, it's quick, it's easy and it may even make you feel better about yourself in a way. But on the other hand you have the people that think a bit further into it. The people that consider the fact that they don't know anything about this persons background, their life or even their mental or physical state. Now you may believe this is thinking a bit too far into it, but this also gives this person the option to widen their own knowledge and even give them the curiosity they need to look into what may have been wrong or what made the person the way they were. That's the way I prefer to look at it anyway, hopefully other people do...but maybe that's just me seeing the world through rose tinted glasses.


"In this moment, it is not wise to judge with your eyes"

- Mitch Albom, The Time Keeper.

 
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page