top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

August In London

What a change...

I've been to London many times before. Many times this year even. But this time was different...for a number of reasons.


One I was going with someone I'd never been with before, two I was spending a lot of the time travelling around on my own on the tube, and three it was a bit more spontaneous. Now I'll begin with the last point. I am a planner. I write stuff down, I circle places I'm going, I make a note of which tube lines and tube stations and even roughly how long it would take me to get there. I don't know why...maybe its how I'm brought up. But I have to say wandering around London with nowhere to go and nothing really in mind to do was...nice. Watching all the busy people rush past with places to be and a time to be there for, it's as if I was in slow motion as life was speeding past. In a way that for me was relaxing. I guess this is the first step of me trying to get out of planner mode...or at least be a little bit more flexible.


Now onto the travelling alone section. I'm used to travelling alone. I do it a lot at home, on the bus, on trains or even just walking. But London. To point out the obvious London is massive. Meaning it's very VERY easy to get lost, and with me only being small it makes it even easier. I mean on one hand I was excited to go to London just to disappear into the crowds, lose myself a bit. But in reality getting lost in London isn't something I planned on doing. The scary bit for me wasn't the walking around. The fear was the underground. I've seen 'The Creep' and I am open to the possibilities of monsters that live down there (even though it is a bit far fetched) so travelling alone was worrying at times. On the serious side of things though I saw the London Bombings back in 2005 and being down there with no reception and no way of telling someone I love them in the last few minutes is of course terrifying to anyone who takes the time to think about it. Maybe it's because I'm a girl. I mean we all must know by now majority of girls think way too into things. But still you have to be prepared for the worst, otherwise you will panic if it ever did happen.


To go back to the first point I made about why this time was different. Like I said I went with someone I'd never been with before. I think this was the most important part of what made the trip as good as it was.

 
2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page