top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

The Menstrual Cup

Intimina Lily Cup One...


Lily Cup One *Photo taken from Amazon Website*

Disclosure: This is a blog for the ladies out there...that may sound sexist but until men have vaginas, this really isn't a blog for you. However if you are looking to expand your knowledge of the female anatomy and the options we have out there to manage our periods, kudos to you and enjoy the read!


I first learned about menstrual cups while browsing through a magazine when I was about 21...I had no idea what they were to begin with. So as I'm aware these are still a thing not many people know about, we will cover first things first...what are they? They are basically an alternative to tampons and pads. It is a reusable cup, that you insert inside your vagina (to be blunt). They can last up to 2 years if you look after it well, and you can wear it for up to 12 hours at a time (depending on how heavy your flow is). They are also better for the environment as they leave no paper trail and also don't have the extra packaging that comes with using tampons or pads (so if you're someone who is environmentally conscious (especially now that 'Our Planet' has been released on netflix) this could be a new way you yourself could help out the environment.


In the last year or so I've been travelling more, including now while I'm working a ski season in the French Alps. So I thought if there was ever any time to try one out it would be now. It meant that I only had to carry one thing around rather than a large amount of tampons or pads (they are expensive to buy when travelling). I also worked out the cost because when you look at menstrual cups they cost between £20-£25 which seems like a lot, however in a year I was looking at spending about £25-£35 on pads or tampons (it's pretty expensive to have a bleeding vagina...just saying). So overall your saving money, just by buying one of these for two years at a time. Also another great reason to give it a go!


So I decided to take the leap and buy one. Like anything else there are varieties and variations. The main differences I noticed when looking to buy one were there are one's for those who have had children and haven't. Seems simple right? But then of course you have the different brands, and even though this is a relatively new product, there are quite a few different ones. The best one I found for myself was the Lily Cup One by Intimina. This is designed for beginners, and for those that haven't had children. The main advantage to this particular one is that it is collapsible, and comes with a little storage tub that is about the same size as a lip balm tin which is great for being discreet especially while travelling! I bought mine from Amazon as it was actually cheaper than the brand's website it's self, but before you buy one make sure you do all the necessary research because after all it's going inside of you...also just a side note...if your squeamish about blood, this might not be the option for you.


So anyway, I purchased it and within three days it was on my doorstep...just in time for my next period. Exciting I know. Once I got it out of the box I decided to give it a quick clean in boiling water before using it, just so it was ready for use. When it comes to cleaning your cup there are a few different ways. The one that works for me is just boiling the cup in water for about five to ten minutes, that way its sanitised. When it came to inserting it for the first time, I had read that if your struggling to get used to it you should try it out in the shower as the warm water on your body makes it easier to get it in and out. This was probably the best idea for the first time, it was pretty much effortless. So I would definitely recommend this method to anyone trying out a menstrual cup for the first time. I have to say though...I was expecting to be able to feel it inside, as whenever I use tampons there is some discomfort which no one needs! Especially while working a stand up job! But with this after the first 10 minutes I pretty much forgot that it was in me (just don't completely forget about it! I never have but I'm sure there's someone in the world that has!). Also the first time I used it was on a night, just so I could be prepared for any leaks. This was also something I had read could happen on the first few times just due to the positioning.



A few things to remember are:

  • Wash your hands before removing or inserting your cup just to avoid transferring bacteria or germs.

  • If your struggling to get it out after use, gently pinch the end of the cup as it releases some of the suction - this can be a pain the first couple of times but you get used to it, and it just becomes a natural thing to do.

  • Do NOT use fragranced soap to clean your cup. Otherwise you could have problems with the residue messing up your vagina's PH level, which can lead to other problems.


Overall for me personally this works! I can't imagine ever going back to tampons and pads...but I do understand that menstrual cups aren't for everyone. If you are interested in trying on out for yourself though...here's where you can buy your own Lily Cup One << (don't forget they do have plenty of variations to suit your own body type and flow, so browse away).


Also if you have any questions or doubts about trying one out for the first time, feel free to leave me a question or query. Otherwise feel free to do more research online, after all the internet is full of information on pretty much anything and everything.

 
18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page