top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

Interrail Packing List

All the things I took with me...and some things I'd rethink for next time!

Essentials:


Backpack -


This was of course the first thing I needed! I bought a 50 Litre backpack from Decathlon, the home of all activities!


Looking back on this, I feel like I could have taken a smaller backpack, just for ease of carrying it around. However, by the end of the month trip I was slightly grateful for the workout I'd received while carrying this around, and I also think I used most of what I actually packed initially...so maybe the size of it wasn't so bad after all.


(If you are doing interrailing outside of the summer season's you might also want to consider getting a waterproof cover - if your backpack isn't already waterproof. I got caught in a massive rainstorm in Budapest and was thankful to have it with me, It was only £6 too so it was well worth it.)


Packing Cubes -


I actually found out about these bad boys from looking at packing videos on youtube in preparation for interrailing , and what a godsend! These made packing so much easier, and just organisation in general! They meant I could find exactly what I needed, without rummaging through my whole bad just to find a specific pair of trousers. I used mine to segregate items of clothing, with a cube for tops and t-shirts, another for jeans and shorts, a separate one for toiletries and then one more essentials like underwear and socks. They basically made the whole packing experience a dream!


Documents -


It goes without saying that you will of course need your passport, insurance and interrail ticket/diary... but when I did my research about interrailing one thing that came up continuously was to bring photocopies of everything. I mean your passport, driving license if your taking it, your insurance and whatever else you'd need if you lost your originals. I didn't experience it but there are pickpockets about and if you get these stolen and don't have back ups...your pretty much screwed. One other thing to note is do not store the copies with the originals, otherwise it was pretty pointless photocopying them. I'd also recommend the same for money. If your taking cash, try to not keep it all in one place...just in case.


Padlock -


Again for the pickpockets. I actually had two, one for a standard locker when in a hostel, and one which was a cable lock. This basically has an extension cable which means you can loop it around your other bags keeping them all together or if you want to leave your backpack in a luggage section of the train you can cable lock it through your bag onto the metal stand itself meaning someone can't just walk off with it. Genius in my opinion. I got mine from Lifeventure but I'm sure there are plenty more on the market.


Toiletries:

In terms of toiletries I literally took the bare essentials, knowing that I could pick up a lot of stuff on the road if I really needed it, but still keeping in mind that certain things would be far more expensive out there than back home.


Make up - Foundation (Max Factor CC cream, and Rimmel Translucent Powder), lipstick (Mac Velvet Teddy), and mascara (Rimmel Argan Oil).

Suncream - Nivea Bronze and Protect (Factor 50).

Toothpaste & toothbrush - I just took a few miniature toothpastes so I could dispose of them on the way, rather than carry around a full size one.

Shampoo Bar - This was to save space and weight, I picked up the Seanik one by Lush in the hope that the sea salt it contained gave my hair a bit of a natural wave, so I could get away with not styling it.

Soap - Just standard dove soap, again to save weight and a bit of space in my backpack.

Plasters - Honestly, if I hadn't of had these I don't think I would still have my feet. The amount of walking I did was unreal and by week 2 my feet were dying. Even if you think you won't need them, take them.

The Pill - I knew for a fact that I didn't want to bleed while travelling, so I made sure I had enough of my pill so I continue taking them without having a period. Otherwise If you don't have that, make sure you have tampons or pads or a menstrual cup, because otherwise you will be spending a lot of money on sanitary products...seriously, its ridiculous.


Clothes:


Shoes - In total I had 3 pairs of shoes. 1 pair of walking trainers, 1 pair of converse, and 1 pair of sandals. (The trainers were for practicality when moving between countries, and the other two were for wandering around the cities to attempt to look somewhat nice).

Tops - I took 7 tops in total, some practical and some nicer (looking back I could have taken less, but it was in case I didn't find laundry facilities often enough).

Jeans - I had one pair of jeans. This was in case it was raining in any of the countries I visited or if they were more conservative places.

Shorts - I had roughly 3 pairs of shorts, 1 denim and 2 cotton (for travelling when it was warm, you'd be surprised how sweaty you can get while luging around a massive backpack).

Dresses/Jumpsuits - I only took one dress (in case I needed it for a night out, you never know who you will meet and where they will invite you!) and I had two jumpsuits (these again came in handy when travelling because they are SO comfortable).

Bras - I took 2 bras, 1 for practicality and one to just feel nice (girl's you will know what I mean).

Pants - In terms of underwear I had around 8 pairs of pants with me (again in case I couldn't find laundry facilities...you always need clean pants).

Socks - And then I had 7 pairs of socks (you never know if or when you'll need them).

Swimwear - I also brought a bikini (just because I was planning to go to Cannes later on in my trip and my hostel in Florence had a swimming pool so why not).


Technology:

When it came to technology, I didn't want to be carrying a lot around. So I only took what I knew I would actually use or need, and let's be honest I really didn't want the extra weight either.


Phone - iPhone 6S (I used this to take photos, keep my train bookings on, keep in touch with family and friends to make sure they knew I was safe and basically everything else you use a phone for).

Ipad - I used this the most when I was on long train journeys. I would pre download Netflix shows and films when I connected to wifi (because most trains don't have free wifi) and then I would watch them on the move. I also used this at the hostels for bookings when it came to trains and other places to stay.

Kindle - Another way I liked to spend my time on long train journeys was to read. Something that I wouldn't usual do at home, so this was great for me.

Chargers - Because basically, how else would you be able to use your technology...luckily I had one cable for all three devices so that saved room!

Adapters - Being from England we don't have the same plugs, so I had to bring a EU adapter. One thing I also read up on was that some areas of Italy uses a different plug type altogether so I also brought a L type adapter which has 3 pins, rather than 2. This I was thankful I had, as I needed it in Venice and Rome.


I think that is pretty much everything I had in my backpack, overall I don't think I did too bad packing and weight wise. However I could have definitely packed lighter if I wanted to, so I guess it entirely depends on you. (I saw a few people interrailing with suitcases, and let me tell you I got so envious of them going about their business without looking like a sweaty mess...but I got the physical endurance of it so like I say, it depends what works best for you!) If you have any questions, leave a comment down below. Otherwise have a great Interrail trip!

 
4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page