top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

Travelling Alone

My first solo journey...

Over Portugal Mar '17

This time last week I had arrived in Portugal, after travelling alone for the first time. Before setting off I was pretty worried. Worried about having a panic attack, as there were certain things that had triggered them off before while travelling. But after all that I ended up getting to Portugal and back with no panic attacks at all. To say the least I am so proud of myself. To be able to do all of that alone and not have any problems definitely made me feel good.


The one thing that really seemed to make a difference is that when travelling alone, more people began to strike up a conversation with me. It was so nice having people helpful and kind at every turn, even something so small as getting my bag and passing it to me really meant a lot. Then getting onto the plane I even got chatting to another first time solo female traveller, which again was really nice to know that I wasn't alone in the situation. Even when I arrived into Portugal I noticed there was a difference, not just from staff like the driver to the hotel giving me advice on the best places to go, but even the locals just making chitchat.


As a planner I did a lot of research before setting off, like I would wherever I went even if I was with others. But I think this did help as it made me more prepared, especially in case anything went wrong. Maybe that just me being over-cautious, but I'd rather be extra prepared. Heck I'm that prepared sometimes that on the last night I even quickly totalled up all the cost for staying there a couple of extra days...I know how to find a deal!


Overall though I honestly had an amazing time travelling by myself and would recommend for anyone to at least try it once...I'm even considering booking another trip again soon. On the down side there's no saying that next time I won't have a panic attack, but at least for now I'm just proud I did it.

 
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page