top of page
  • Writer's pictureNatalieO93

To Die In A Dream

Is a strange experience...

A few nights ago...I had a dream.

Now unlike majority of my dreams, this one had a historical background... It was set in Nazi Germany. Now, I love history but the bad thing about this, was that I was a Jew.


The dream began underground, in a similar setting to the London Underground except it was darker and unkept. I was surrounded by loads of other Jews, all of different ages showing a range of emotions. We began being led to what seemed to be two elevator shafts in which groups of Jews were being crammed into. Once we were in the lift we were then made to watch a propaganda movie to distract us, while the lift either moved upwards to a few more days of freedom or down to a dreaded gas chamber.


While waiting anxiously, the propaganda film came to an end and the lift doors began to open. Thankfully the lift had gone up to 'freedom', we all scuttled out like rats in a sewer, but the worst was not over. We followed the damp corridor down towards the exit, when from the distance I noticed that the next section, which was similar to airport security where the Nazi's required a barcode which was imbedded into the skin of Jews.

I looked down at my arms, searching for a barcode. I couldn't find one, I began to panic thinking that I would never escape back out into the real world without one. I  looked around to see if anyone could help me to get a barcode, failing that I began to run searching for an alternate exit...and that's when I realised I was beginning to be chased by Nazi's with guns trying to shoot me.


In that moment I then realised that I was in a dream...but I couldn't wake myself up and bring myself out of it. I began to think to myself, what if i get shot right now? What if I die and can't return back to reality. What if my body goes into some sort of coma due to my mind being killed in my imagination? Is that even possible?


All I know is that dreams are weird, and when they get weird my thought process gets weird... nevertheless I still enjoy dreaming...

 
1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page